Saying Goodbye

Psychiatrist Elisabeth Kubler-Ross has journeyed with so many people who were about to die, that her famed model, The Five Stages of Denial, has become the accepted standard of examining terminally-ill emotions. They are classified as:

Denial – “No, I am not going to die”

Anger – “Why me? There are so many other people who should die!”

Bargaining – “Lord if I you give me a second chance, I will serve your Church.”

Depression – It is a time to reflect on the life he or she has lived and the coming death.

Acceptance – “Your will be done.”

In one of the more famous readings, we hear of St. Paul’s last days. Every Lent, we also hear of Jesus’ life coming to an end. Yet, not only did they accept their fate, but they also praised God along the way.

We do not know how much time we have on earth. The challenge is always to be ready. 

  1. Any Unfinished Business? If our life were to end tomorrow, would there be something that we should do immediately? Why then are we not doing something about it? Why do we assume there is so much time left?
  2. Full of Sins? The greatest blessing is to be in a state of grace always. There are people though, who continue to live in sin and vices. When will we start the road to a new life?
  3. Is Our Mission Fulfilled? Jesus was faithful to His mission, hence He knew He was a faithful servant able to give an accounting of the life and the blessings He was given on earth.

In every Mass:

  • We thank God for the gift of life.
  • We do not know how much time we have, we live for the moment
  • While death brings uncertainty, we remember the saying, “For one to have a meaningful death, we should have lived a meaningful life.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s